Sleeping Giants

Sleeping Giants

Book one of the Themis Files


“This stellar debut novel … masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in the cutting-edge cadences of interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a literary thriller fueled by a quest for truth, and by a struggle for control of earthshaking power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square-shaped hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved - the object's origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand's code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the relic they seek. What's clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history's most perplexing discovery, and finally figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

Sleeping Giants was published in April 2016 by Del Rey (Random House) in North-America.

Hi!

Waking Gods Waking Gods

Book two of the Themis Files


Waking Gods will be released April 4, 2017.

Sylvain Neuvel on io9:

"I love Waking Gods. It's clearly a sequel to Sleeping Giants, but it's also a very different experience. There are some answers in there I know people are looking for. There are also interesting new questions being asked. If you liked the epilogue in Sleeping Giants, you'll really like what comes next. I don't want to spoil anything, but the stakes are much higher in this one, for the characters, and for all of us."

Read the whole interview here.

You can pre-order Waking Gods right now using the links below.

Hi!


What people are saying

“Reminiscent of The Martian and World War Z, Sleeping Giants is a luminous conspiracy yarn that shoots for (and lands among) the stars.” —Pierce Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Red Rising

“First-time novelist Sylvain Neuvel does a bold, splashy cannonball off the high dive with Sleeping Giants. It bursts at the seams with big ideas and the questions they spawn—How much human life is worth sacrificing in the pursuit of scientific progress? Can humanity be trusted with weapons of ultimate destruction? And the biggest: Are we alone? But all that really matters is that this book is a sheer blast from start to finish. I haven’t had this much fun reading in ages.” —Blake Crouch, author of Dark Matter and the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy

Goodreads

Kirkus

four stars

"This stellar debut novel—revolving around a top-secret project to assemble the ancient body parts of a giant humanoid relic buried throughout the world by aliens—masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction."

"Because the novel is narrated through a series of interviews, personal journals and mission logs, the grand-scale storyline immediately becomes intimate as readers experience the historic events through the eyes of characters ..."

"Like the giant alien artifact in the story, this novel is so much more than the sum of its parts—a page-turner of the highest order!"

Read the full review on www.kirkus.com

Publishers Weekly

"[A] fascinating first novel..."

"Neuvel develops several interesting characters, particularly Franklin and cranky pilot Kara Resnik. Even the anonymous interviewer, by turns enigmatic and supportive, holds the reader’s attention."

"... this intriguing tale is entirely worthy of an adult audience."

Read the full review on www.publishersweekly.com

Library Journal

Starred review, Debut of the month

“A remarkable debut”

"Reminiscent of Max Brooks’s World War Z, the story’s format effectively builds suspense."

Read the full review on www.libraryjournal.com

ON SALE NOW

Close Project

United States

Amazon.com

Audible.com


Order now! Choose one of the formats below

Close Project

United States

Coming soon


Pre-order Waking Gods, Book II of the Themis FIles

Ships April 2017






About the Author

Sylvain Neuvel

Sylvain Neuvel dropped out of high school at age 15. Along the way, he has been a journalist, worked in soil decontamination, sold ice cream in California, and peddled furniture across Canada. He received a Ph.D. in linguistics from the University of Chicago. He taught linguistics in India, and worked as a software engineer in Montreal. He is also a certified translator, though he wishes he were an astronaut. He likes to tinker, dabbles in robotics and is somewhat obsessed with Halloween. He absolutely loves toys; his girlfriend would have him believe that he has too many, so he writes about aliens and giant robots as a blatant excuse to build action figures (for his son, of course). Find out more at www.neuvel.net.


Subscribe to our mailing list

Sign up for The Themis Files newsletter to receive exclusive content and news about the series. You can also win some really cool stuff!

Email Address*

First Name*

Last Name*

*indicates required

Have questions? Comments? We love getting your feedback.


Mail

315 Place d'Youville, Suite 300
Montréal (Quebec)
Canada
H2Y 0A4


Visit

neuvel.net


Share